Forschungsinstitut Technologie und Behinderung Project eGovMon





Project eGovMon

eGovMon Logo

eGovernment Monitor

Short description

eGovMon will deliver a prototype implementation of a large scale observatory for benchmarking eGovernment services. The online resource will provide an up-to-date assessment of the current eGovernment implementation, with access to past results, and allow for reflection of the progress so far and exploration of future trends.

Description of work

eGovMon will assess eGovernment services with respect to their:

  • Accessibility
  • Transparency
  • Efficiency
  • Impact

A set of well defined indicators will be identified for each area, using a coherent assessment methodology. To develop and maintain the measurement framework, an open, participatory, and inclusive process will be established.

Evaluation results will be gathered through automated tools, when possible, and supplemented by survey and manual assessments. All project results will be released under an open license, and all software will be open source.

Over a dozen organisations from private and public sector in Norway, Belgium, Denmark, Italy, and Germany will collaborate with twenty Norwegian municipalities and counties to build and test the eGovMon components.

A more detailed project description can be found at

Focus of FTB

  • Development of methods to assess the accessibility of eGovernment services
  • Dissemination of project results

Contact persons at FTB

  • Dr.-Ing. Helmut Heck (head of FTB development centre)
  • Dipl.-Math. Annika Nietzio


Project partners

  • Tingtun AS, Norway (Coordinator)
  • Agency for Public Management and eGovernment (DIFI), Norway
  • Norwegian Post and Telecommunication Authorities, Norway
  • Delta Center, Norway
  • Deloitte, Belgium
  • Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
  • MIP-Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Vestfold University College, Norway
  • University of Agder, Norway

Project data

  • Duration: 3/2008 - 3/2012
  • Funding: co-funded by the Research Council of Norway (Norges forskningsråd) under the VERDIKT programme.